La Tomatina, The Tomato Fight of Spain

La Tomatina is an annual festival in Spain.

Like the Running of The Bulls, La Tomatina attracts a lot of folks into a small Spanish town to participate in a wild somewhat whacky event.

When you participate in La Tomatina you arm yourself with a shitload of ripe tomatoes and you throw them at everyone you can see.  Of course, while you are aiming at them they are throwing tomatoes at you!  Imagine the great destruction!!

When I was younger I always dreamed of going to Pamplona, Spain and running with the bulls.  Now, I think throwing tomatoes might be more my speed.

Or maybe just because my hometown Sacramento is a Spanish name plus it used to often be called Sacratomato because we had quite a few tomato canneries.  In the summer I swear I can still smell the tomatoes.

I missed La Tomatina this year, but the great thing about an event like this…..there is always next year!

They actually have Tomatina Tours and will fly you to Spain just for this fantastic food fight.

I tell ya, Those Spaniards now how to throw a party.

Leave a Reply

